top of page
  • Writer's pictureTati Ana

La Guajira - Colombia

Updated: Jun 12, 2019

Colombia is an amazing country with great diversity.


The most incredible beach I have ever seen

In Colombia there are large metropolises, beautiful countrysides, many coffee plantations, the jungle of the Amazon, and incredibly unique deserts. The desert that I will describe here, has the stunning raw coastline, this is  La Guiajira.

I chose to travel to La Guajira all by myself because my partner was not moved to come with me and I "felt" that I must experience this incredibly unique, exquisite environment. 

I traveled by bus from Santa Marta to Riohacha, and on to the 4 corners, between Riohacha and Urubia. There, I had to find a "colectivo"(shared taxi),  to take a group of us to Cabo de la Vela.


There are lots of accommodation options in Cabo, no need to book ahead unless you plan to come during Christmas week. I chose a bed instead of a hammock for $5 American. I shared the room with 2 men and the bed was terrible, but at least I could sleep.



Wayuu hammock

From Cabo de la Vela, I booked a return trip to Punta Gallinas. This 5 hour jeep trip, which leaves at 5AM, includes a jeep tour in Punta Gallinas and costs about $55 American dollars.

There are only 3 accommodation options in Punta Gallinas . The first one is a Wayuu hammock for $7 dollars, a regular hammock for $5 dollars, or your own tent. An incredible lobster meal is available daily for about $10 dollars.

I could not fall asleep in my Wayuu and eventually lied down in the sand, far removed from the Wayuu crowd, in order to be able to lie down flat. It must be only me because others had no problem sleeping. As you can see in the picture, these hammocks are very close together and no mater how you install yourself, the body position is awkward.


Punta Gallinas

Punta Gallinas

La Guajira


Not being able to sleep for one night was more than worth the effort. Most who travel extensively throughout Colombia, do not make it to Punta Gallina.

I have travelled to many incredible places in my life, however, this particular experience can not be described in words. The above picture describes just a little bit the uniqueness of this experience and beauty.


I trust that if you are reading this post or you have found me on YouTube, you will find your way to Colombia. Let´s contribute to the needed critical mass of awakened humans who are speeding up the human evolution of consciousness.


InfiniteLove ♥️


Contact me and receive my gift:

EVOLUTION OF CONSCIOUSNESS  BOOKLET #1

True Freedom Is Inside

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page