top of page
  • Writer's pictureTati Ana

La Guajira - Colombia

Colombia is an amazing country with great diversity. There are large metropolises, beautiful countrysides, many coffee plantations, the jungle of the Amazon, and incredibly unique deserts. The desert that I will describe here, has the stunning raw coastline, this is La Guiajira.

I chose to travel to La Guajira all by myself because my partner was not moved to come with me and I "felt" that I must experience this incredibly unique, exquisite environment.

I traveled by bus from Santa Marta to Riohacha, a four hour trip. There I had to find a "colectivo"(shared taxi), to get to Uribia, which took another 1 and 1/2 hours.

From Urubia a colectivo truck took a group of us to Cabo de la Vela. Here are some of the amazing pictures of Cabo de la Vela.

Punta Gallinas

There are lots of accommodation options in Cabo, no need to book ahead unless you plan to come during Christmas week. I chose a hammock for $3 American dollars.

From Cabo I organized a return boat trip from Puerto Bolivar to Punta Gallinas. This 2 hour return boat trip included jeep tours in Punta Gallinas and it cost about $55 American dollars.

There are only 3 accommodation options in Punta Gallinas . They all offer a Wayuu hammock for $7 dollars and incredible lobster meals for about $10 dollars.

Punta Gallinas

13 views0 comments
bottom of page